Washington University, St. LouisEngineering

Zaborszky Distinguished Lecture Series

The Annual Zaborszky Distinguished Lecture Series was created in 1990 to honor Professor John Zaborszky, the founder and first chairman of the Department of Systems Science & Mathematics (now the Preston M. Green Department of Electrical & Systems Engineering). Professor John Zaborszky passed away in 2008. Each year, a distinguished scholar is invited to present a series of three lectures in his or her field of expertise.

List of Lectures

  • 2013 John Baillieul (Intelligent Mechatronics Lab, Boston University )

    List of Lectures

  • 2012 Richard Murray (California Institute of Technology)

  • 2010 Francis J. Doyle III (Dept. of Chemical Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara)

  • 2009 Andrew R. Teel University of California, Santa Barbara, Dept of Electrical and Computer Engineering)

  • 2008 Alberto Isidori (University of Rome)

  • 2007 Graham C. Goodwin (University of Newcastle, Australia)

  • 2006Stephen Boyd (Stanford University)

  • 2005 Alan Willsky (MIT)

      Multi-resolution Markov Models, Graphical Model; Sensor Networks

  • 2004 Roger Brockett (Harvard University)

      Combinatorial Optimization, Neural Networks; Adaptive Control

  • 2003 Allen R. Tannenbaum (Georgia Institute of Technology)

      Lectures on Active Vision

  • 2002 A. Steve Morse (Yale University)

      Control Using Logic Switching

  • 2001 Panos J. Antsaklis (University of Notre Dame)

      Discrete Event Systems in Autonomous Intelligent Control

  • 2000 Anders Lindquist (Royal Institute of Technology)

      Analytic Interpolation with Degree Constraint with Applications to Systems and Control Signal Processing

  • 1996 Tamer Basar (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

      Paradigms for Robustness in Controller & Filter Designs

  • 1998 Leon O. Chua (University of California at Berkeley)

      A Paradigm for Complexity

  • 1997 J├╝rgen Ackermann (German Aerospace Research Establishment)

      Robust Control Supports Car Drivers & Pilots

  • 1996 Pravin Varaiya (University of California at Berkeley)

      Intelligent Highway Transportation Systems

  • 1995 Y.C. Ho (Harvard University)

      Discrete Event Dynamic Systems & a New Paradigm for Performance Analysis

  • 1994 H. Thomas Banks (North Carolina State University)

      Estimation & Control in Distributed Parameter Systems

  • 1993 Jan Willems (University of Groningen)

      The Behavioral Approach to Systems & Control

  • 1992 Karl Astrom (Lund University)

      Automatic Tuning and Adaptation

  • 1991 Arthur Krener (University of California at Davis)

      Nonlinear Control and Estimation

  • 1990 Roger Brockett (Harvard University)

      Combinatorial Optimization, Neural Networks & Adaptive Control

  • John Zaborszky (1914-2008) chaired the Systems Science & Mathematics Department from 1974-1989. He continues to be missed by many of his colleagues. (Reflections from Memorial Service)

    Washington University in St. Louis School of Engineering & Applied Science, Department of Electrical & Systems Engineering

    Green Hall, CB 1042, 1 Brookings Drive, Saint Louis, MO, USA 63130
    Phone: (314) 935-5565, Fax: (314) 935-7500

    Reduce Font SizeEnlarge Font SizePrint Page